Monday, March 21, 2011

So I finally got around to telling my parents that I moved. Things did not go well for me. I haven't even asked about the TV cabinet yet, but they might come up and visit soon, and I plan on going down to visit soon as well, so hopefully I can get that and some other things, like my sewing machine, that I have a place and a use for now. Lindsay and I are commandeering a small table/stand/cart from Mario's house that we are going to set the TV on for now, and then once we have the other TV cabinet from my parents, we are going to move it into the reading nook and use it for our coffee makers and supplies and a cookie jar. Lindsay is getting some clothesline today. I started a little herb garden for us this weekend, and once I save a little more money, I am going to start hunting again for a little china cabinet and one more squishy chair for the reading nook. We are thinking of doing a citrusy kind of theme in the bathroom now. Anyway, I seemed to have lost my camera again, but I promise promise promise that I am going to post some pictures soon.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Ok, lots of things have been happening since the last post. I secretly lived in the new house for awhile, got locked out by the repairmen, lived with Mario for a little while, and then finally got the keys!

I found a super comfy loveseat at my favorite thrift store for only $10. It is in really rough shape but I am going to recover it in a pretty blue fabric and then some matching throw pillows for the other couch and hopefully it will pull all the furniture together nicely.
I planted some tiny gardenia bushes in the front flower bed so maybe we will have pretty smelling flowers sometime this summer.
I also got some cheap fabric on sale at walmart, and I am going to try to make kitchen curtains for it. I also got a nice little microwave cabinet and put it together all by myself, and I must say it looks pretty awesome.

We still need:
a coffee table
a china cabinet
one more squishy chair for the reading corner
a bigger tv
new curtains
a living room clock
new bathroom stuff once we finally decide on a theme
patio furniture since I ended up leaving those chairs when I moved out
fabric to recover the loveseat
clothesline

and I would also like to get some night blooming jasmine to put on our fence and some tropical plants like hibiscus to put around the patio.

and I also need to confess to my parents that I moved AGAIN and beg them to bring up the old tv cabinet that they saved for me. I think our tv might sit on the floor a few more weeks...

Monday, March 7, 2011

Times, They are a Changin

Prepare yourself for another post that has absolutely zero to do with cooking or Mario, but a furious rant about how very angry I am.

Firstly, I paid 6 months worth of rent in advance when my student refund came in. nearly two grand which would last me to the end of the lease, I no longer owed the apartment complex anything. I knew I was probably going to end up leaving a little sooner than that, but I told my roommates that they would have some time to find a new person to take over my room without having to worry about paying extra rent. I thought this was the nice thing to do. And should they move somebody in earlier, the reciprocal nice thing to do would be to pay me my rent back. One would think right...

Came home yesterday to find a contract declaring that by my vacating the premises, I am relinquishing my rights to any advance rent paid as well as my security deposit. So needless to say, I vacated the premises immediately and cancelled the electricity. I was absolutely livid. As long as I was losing my deposit anyway, I decided it was time to get gone. So I am currently semi-homeless. Molly and all of my things got moved into the new house by about 11 pm last night, I unpacked until about 2am, finally got a few hours sleep, and now back at work until about 7ish tonight. I have a test tomorrow that I haven't even started studying for yet. Waiting for Jackie to give us the keys "mid March". Specifically when does mid March start, I wonder? Regardless, I left the back door unlocked so I can feed Molly and get clothes as needed for now. I am absolutely exhausted, and still pretty damn mad. I've been nursing a raging headache for about 16 hours now, and I still need to start studying for this test. Too many things to worry about right now.

Friday, March 4, 2011

A super productive day for me. Leaving in about two hours to look after my girl, but so far I've managed to actually sleep in a little (yippee!), do a load of laundry, pack another car load for this weekend, eat some nachos, organize what's left of my room, and make two lists worth of things which still need to be packed up, but mostly have to wait until I have somebody's truck or I'm a little closer to the point of officially moving out and not coming back.

My room:
Bed + my 800 pillows
Dresser
Tv
Shelves (2)
Nightstand
Mirror
Desk + all the junk on top of my desk
Desk Chair
Hamper + Laundry Basket
Cat and all cat accessories
Trash Can
Last bit of clothes/shoes/odds/ends

Rest of the house!!
Deck Chairs
My Dining Room Table
Vacuum Cleaner
Couch
Step Stool
Wine Glasses
Kitchen and Bathroom Garbage Cans
Shower Curtain and Bathroom Rugs
Games
VCR/DVD/Remote
and all my holiday stuff buried somewhere in the storage closet.

I'm dreading the last one a little. But I definitely feel like I'm making some progress. Once all my stuff is out, I am going to rent a carpet cleaner and spackle up the walls a bit, and all will be well and I will say siyonara and that will be that.

and then I get to live happily ever after in my silly crooked little cottage home.

the end.
I can hardly believe I get paid to play candyland and watch matilda. We also drove through the car wash. I have a great day at work every time.

Also, I am nearing about 50% moved into the new house. Lindsay asked her to unlock it yesterday to bring in her new mattress, meanwhile I was at home packing up stuff and texting Lindsay about how much I wished I could just move out today. She told me the house was unlocked today, and a few hours later I moved one whole car load worth of junk into the new house. Score one for me! Next to tackle is my desk and shelving, and all my craft supplies. lol. Big step.

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

Everything is Changing,..Again

Should have posted an ad for nannying years ago. I am getting more emails than I can shake a stick at. And I am telling them all, I already have a primary family that I work for, but if you tell me when you need me, and I am available, I'll watch your kids too. I am going to make a killing this summer. Crazy.

AND in the next two weeks, I will be out of the hell hole I currently live in. Hello, sunny days. Everything is about to get a whole lot brighter.

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Just got a new job, I'm the nanny for a 9 year old girl!

I am so very excited!